Neill Blomkamp’s Alien won’t undo Alien 3 and Alien: Resurrection

By: Marv Castillo

I was waiting for some official confirmation that Alien 3 and Alien: Resurrection will be undone and Neill Blomkamp’s Alien sequel will serve the franchise as some kind of Superman Returns where the last two films were ignored. The director of the upcoming Chappie said yesteday he wanted his Alien movie to feel like a genetic sibling to the first to movies in the franchise. His will movie will come after the second film released in 1986-

Of course, this generated some buzz, since Alien 3 is not loved by everyone and Alien: Resurrection is panned even by fans of the franchise. Hell, I wanted to buy a collector’s box from Amazon, but I didn’t want to pay for those two last films and the Alien vs. Predator. But I don’t hate Alien 3, and turns out, a lot of people doesn’t hate that movie. In fact there’s many film fans that think that is a solid movie and that generated a backlash too.

Today, the director of the great District 9 said in an interview:

My favorites are the first two movies. So I want to make a film that’s connected to Alien and Aliens. That’s my goal. I’m not trying to undo Alien 3 or Alien: Resurrection, I just want it to be connected to Alien and Aliens.

Sigourney Weaver who is also featured in the video interview added:

“I always wanted to complete this story and it wasn’t really until Neill and I started talking that I said, ‘this is why we waited however many years its been.’”

This is good news. Anyone will be harmed after the release of the movie, since it’s all about adding another film into the universe that works as a sequel to the first two Aliens. I’m excited for this.

Leave a Reply

